clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NLDS Game 5 Thread: Dodgers at Giants, winner advances

The two best records in MLB face off in NLDS showdown

Division Series - Los Angeles Dodgers v San Francisco Giants - Game Five
Brandon Crawford and the injured Max Muncy
Photo by Harry How/Getty Images

There’s one game left in the divisional round of the 2021 MLB postseason. The Los Angeles Dodgers and San Francisco Giants are down to a deciding Game 5 in their NLDS matchup, and they’ll settle it Thursday at Oracle Park in the Bay Area.

These two teams led all of MLB in wins this year, with 107 for the Giants and 106 for the Dodgers. However, since they share a division in the NL West, one of them had to settle for a Wild Card, setting up a dramatic meeting between them in the NLDS. Now one of them will bow out of October early.

In Game 4, the Dodgers won 7-2 to even the best-of-five series at two games apiece.

L.A. will begin Game 5 with a surprise gambit, using reliever Corey Knebel as an opener to start the evening. The right-hander opened four times during the season, and in three of those instances it resulted in scoreless work from Knebel and a victory for the Dodgers. He did it once against the Giants in September and tossed two shutout frames, though S.F. ended up winning the game. Lefty 20-game winner Julio Urias figures to follow Knebel.

For the Giants, Logan Webb gets the start, for the second time in the series. He threw 7⅔ scoreless innings in a brilliant Game 1 victory.

The winner of tonight’s game goes on to face the Atlanta Braves in the NLCS, and also gets bragging rights in the first-ever postseason matchup between these two longtime rivals.

Dodgers lineup (away)

  1. RF Mookie Betts (R)
  2. SS Corey Seager (L)
  3. 2B Trea Turner (R)
  4. C Will Smith (R)
  5. 3B Justin Turner (R)
  6. CF Gavin Lux (L)
  7. 1B Cody Bellinger (L)
  8. LF Chris Taylor (R)
  9. RHP Corey Knebel (R) / LHP Julio Urias (L)

Giants lineup (home)

  1. 2B Tommy La Stella (L)
  2. 1B Darin Ruf (R)
  3. C Buster Posey (R)
  4. SS Brandon Crawford (L)
  5. CF Kris Bryant (R)
  6. RF Mike Yastrzemski (L)
  7. 1B Wilmer Flores (R)
  8. 3B Evan Longoria (R)
  9. RHP Logan Webb (R)

How To Watch

  • Date: Thursday, October 14
  • Time: 6:07 p.m. PT
  • TV: TBS