clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Liam Hendriks named to 2020 All-MLB First-Team

HercuLiam earns yet another honor

Wild Card Round - Chicago White Sox v Oakland Athletics - Game Three Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

Another day, another honor for Liam Hendriks, the best relief pitcher in the majors.

The 2020 All-MLB Team was announced on Wednesday, and Hendriks made the First-Team as one of two relief pitchers after an amazing season as the Oakland A’s closer. He’s joined by Nick Anderson of the Tampa Bay Rays, while the Second-Team features Brad Hand of the Cleveland Indians and Devin Williams of the Milwaukee Brewers.

The nod for Hendriks comes as no surprise. He made the Second-Team in 2019, and then was even better this past summer in the short season. He converted 14 of his 15 save opportunities, lowered his ERA from 1.80 to 1.78, struck out 37 batters to only three walks, and then put up a couple of legendary performances in the postseason. His 1.14 FIP this year is the seventh-best in MLB’s entire Modern Era (since 1900) in 20 innings or more.

Hendriks, 2020: 1.78 ERA, 25⅓ ip, 37 Ks, 3 BB, 1 HR, 1.14 FIP, .227 xwOBA

In addition to this All-MLB placement, Hendriks also won the 2020 AL Reliever of the Year award, he tied for ninth in AL Cy Young voting, and he was the only Oakland player to receive AL MVP votes, finishing tied for 13th.

Fellow A’s reliever Jake Diekman was also named as one of six reliever finalists for this year’s All-MLB squad, but he didn’t end up getting one of the spots. Neither did White Sox closer Alex Colome.

Here are the full 2020 lineups, copied directly from MLB’s site:

First Team

  • C: Salvador Perez, Royals
  • 1B: Freddie Freeman, Braves
  • 2B: DJ LeMahieu, Yankees*
  • SS: Fernando Tatis Jr., Padres
  • 3B: Manny Machado, Padres
  • OF: Mookie Betts, Dodgers
  • OF: Mike Trout, Angels
  • OF: Juan Soto, Nationals
  • DH: Marcell Ozuna, Braves*
  • SP: Shane Bieber, Indians
  • SP: Trevor Bauer, Reds*
  • SP: Yu Darvish, Cubs
  • SP: Max Fried, Braves
  • SP: Jacob deGrom, Mets
  • RP: Liam Hendriks, A’s*
  • RP: Nick Anderson, Rays

Second Team

  • C: J.T. Realmuto, Phillies*
  • 1B: José Abreu, White Sox
  • 2B: Brandon Lowe, Rays
  • SS: Corey Seager, Dodgers
  • 3B: José Ramírez, Indians
  • OF: Ronald Acuña Jr., Braves
  • OF: Mike Yastrzemski, Giants
  • OF: Michael Conforto, Mets
  • DH: Nelson Cruz, Twins*
  • SP: Dinelson Lamet, Padres
  • SP: Gerrit Cole, Yankees
  • SP: Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
  • SP: Kenta Maeda, Twins
  • SP: Hyun Jin Ryu, Blue Jays
  • RP: Brad Hand, Indians*
  • RP: Devin Williams, Brewers

*Denotes player is a current free agent.

Oakland A’s All-MLB Team history

This is the second year that All-MLB Teams have been named, and they’re chosen by a mixture of fan votes and an expert panel. Here’s the full list of Oakland A’s selections.

  • 2019: RP Liam Hendriks (2nd)
  • 2019: SS Marcus Semien (2nd)
  • 2020: RP Liam Hendriks (1st)

Congrats to Hendriks on another well-deserved accolade!