clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jon Lester finishes in 4th place in AL Cy Young Award voting, Corey Kluber wins

The Athletics and Red Sox starter finished behind winner Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians, Felix Hernandez of the Seattle Mariners, and Chris Sale of the Chicago White Sox.

Kelley L Cox-USA TODAY Sports

Jon Lester earned 46 voting points in the American League Cy Young Award balloting to finish in fourth place. This matches Lester's highest finish for that award, when he finished fourth in the 2010 race won by Felix Hernandez. The Athletics and Red Sox starter ended the regular season with 19 consecutive quality starts, going 28 for 32 on the year. His 2.46 ERA trailed only Hernandez (2.14), Chris Sale (2.17), and winner Corey Kluber (2.44) in the American League.

The final results from the Baseball Writers Association of America:

Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Corey Kluber CLE 17 11 2 169
Felix Hernandez SEA 13 17 159
Chris Sale CWS 2 19 5 3 78
Jon Lester BOS/OAK 3 15 7 46
Max Scherzer DET 4 6 8 32
David Price TB/DET 2 3 4 16
Phil Hughes MIN 1 4 6
Wade Davis KC 3 3
Greg Holland KC 1 1

Points are awarded on a 7-4-3-2-1 scoring system. A complete breakdown of the writer's ballots can be found in the linked BBWAA Google doc.