clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oakland Athletics at Los Angeles Angels, Sep 11, 2012 7:05 PM PDT

As of September 11th, 2012, the A's current record stands at 80 wins and 60 losses. They are 20 games over .500

and if they win tonight, will have guaranteed a .500 record. The last time the A's season finished a season at .500

was in 2010 when they finished at 81 - 81. Remember in June before the All-Star break the A's set their goal to be to

get to .500?


Then they set their eyes on improving past .500.

Then July happened.

Then August happened.


Now the A's are in mid-September and aren't just looking to get into the playoffs by wild card birth. No. The wild card

has been a mere goal the A's have set for themselves. They're on the mighty quest to October by winning the

division, which they are currently only 3 games behind the Rangers.

For now, the goal is to win this big series against the Angels and move on from there. After winning a great game off

of Jarrod Parker's pitching performance last night by the score of 3 - 1, Dan Straily makes his first start since being

recalled from Sacramento in hopes of leading the A's to their second win in this four-game series against the

Angels. Starting for the Angels is Jerome Williams who is making his first start since his stint as a relief pitcher. As

shown in yesterdays win, a big key to beating the Angels is containing Mike Trout. Before the A's snapped the

Angels 6 game win streak last night, Mike Trout had scored in the very first inning in all six of those games.

Still no Chris Carter in the lineup, but we've all learned to never doubt The Mad Scientist A.K.A rightful Manager of the
1. Coco Crisp (S) CF
2. Seth Smith (L) LF
3. Josh Reddick (L) RF
4. Yoenis Cespedes (R) DH
5. Brandon Moss (L) 1B
6. Josh Donaldson (R) 3B
7. George Kottaras (L) C
8. Stephen Drew (L) SS
9. Cliff Pennington (S) 2B
Anaheim of Angels Angeles Los
1. Mike Trout (R) CF
2. Torii Hunter (R) RF
3. Albert Pujols (R) DH
4. Kendrys Morales (S) 1B
5. Howard Kendrick (R) 2B
6. Erick Aybar (S) SS
7. Vernon Wells (R) LF
8. Alberto Callaspo (S) 3B
9. Chris Iannetta (R) C