FanPost

What time of day will we play "ALDS Home Game 1"?

One of the critical things that's going to affect aftermarket sales of ALDS tickets is how many people will suddenly find themselves with tickets they cannot use because they did not anticipate Major League Baseball screwing over Oakland. Fortunately, we can look to the past as our guide and determine that if the season ended today, Game 1 of the ALDS would be an early afternoon day game.

"Home Game 1" will be played on a date where both leagues are scheduled to play all their division series games. Home Game 1 could correspond to ALDS Game 1 (and would if the season ended today) played on Friday, October 4 or ALDS Game 3 played on Monday, October 7. These are tremendously inconvenient dates to televise four postseason games without conflicts, obviously.

Last year, with the 2-3 format, four game dates were scheduled for Sunday, Wednesday, and Thursday games. Additionally, it was the first time that all four division series had gone five games. How did MLB schedule those games for television?

In chronological order, with the home team's time zone second.

Sunday, October 7, 2012

  1. 9:07am PT/12:07pm ET: Oakland at Detroit Game 2 on MLB Network (DET led 1-0)
  2. 3:07pm ET/2:07pm CT: Washington at Saint Louis Game 1 on TBS
  3. 6:15pm ET/6:15pm ET: New York at Baltimore Game 2 on TBS (NYY led 1-0)
  4. 9:37pm ET/6:37pm PT: Cincinnati at San Francisco Game 2 on TBS.
Wednesday, October 10, 2012
  1. 12:07pm CT/1:07pm ET: St. Louis at Washington Game 3 on MLB Network (Tied 1-1)
  2. 1:07 pm PT/4:07pm ET: San Francisco at Cincinnati Game 4 on TBS (CIN led 2-1)
  3. 7:37 pm ET/7:37pm ET: Baltimore at New York Game 3 on TBS (Tied 1-1)
  4. 9:37 pm ET/6:37pm PT: Detroit at Oakland Game 4 on TNT (DET led 2-1)
Thursday, October 11, 2012
  1. 10:07am PT/1:07pm ET: San Francisco at Cincinnati Game 5 on TBS (Tied 2-2)
  2. 3:07pm CT/4:07pm ET: St. Louis at Washington Game 4 on TBS (STL led 2-1)
  3. 7:37pm ET/7:37pm ET: Baltimore at New York Game 4 on TBS (NYY led 2-1)
  4. 9:37pm ET/6:37pm PT: Detroit at Oakland Game 5 on TNT (Tied 2-2)
On the four-game days, MLB strongly preferred avoiding a game starting at a local time earlier than noon and later than 7:30. Indeed the only noon game was on a weekend. Given prime time consistently was the large market New York Yankees. The start times for the Washington–St. Louis series, on review, were a bit of a joke throughout. WAS-STL Game 5 had the misfortune of going against BAL-NYY Game 5, and so that game STARTED at 8:37pm.
Anyway, let's look at the matchups for Friday, October 4 if the season ended today:
  • TAM/TEX at BOS Game 1 (ET/CT at ET)
  • DET at OAK Game 1 (ET at PT)
  • PIT/CIN at ATL Game 2 (ET at ET)
  • LAD at STL Game 2 (PT at CT)
Two cities have to jump out at you for teams with national exposure and/or large media markets, Boston and the Dodgers. I have to doubt that TBS would willingly let the Los Angeles media market disappear into the morning the way it let San Francisco did last year. I think the Atlanta game would go first, followed by Oakland, then Boston, and then the Dodgers at St. Louis. The only issue would be the timing. A couple ways they might do it.
No overlap
  1. 12:05pm ET/12:05pm ET - PIT/CIN at ATL on MLB Network
  2. 3:05pm ET/12:05pm PT - DET at OAK on TBS
  3. 5:30pm CT/6:30pm ET - TEX/TAM at BOS on TBS
  4. 6:30pm PT/8:30 pm CT - LAD at STL on TBS (Game starts on TNT)
The TNT Option
  1. 1:05pm ET/1:05pm ET - PIT/CIN at ATL on MLB Network
  2. 4:05pm ET/1:05pm PT - DET at OAK on TBS
  3. 6:35pm CT/7:35pm ET - TEX/TAM at BOS on TBS
  4. 5:35pm PT/7:35pm CT - LAD at STL on TNT
The TNT option seems reasonable. No game starts locally earlier than 1 o'clock nor later than 7:30. Of course, this is only the second year MLB Network is covering a postseason game. Nonetheless, I think any mucking around with the schedule leaves the A's playing a day game in deference to Boston and Los Angeles.
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Athletics Nation

You must be a member of Athletics Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Athletics Nation. You should read them.

Join Athletics Nation

You must be a member of Athletics Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Athletics Nation. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker