FanPost

Quick question

sorry to use an entry on this, but I couldn't find it addressed in any of the other recent posts.  

In today's SF Chronicle, Susan Slusser writes that the umpire ruled that "Ellis intentionally dropped the ball, so only Cabrera was out." (This on the play with Figgins on first -- he later scored.)  Because I'm in Alabama, I wasn't able to watch the game.

First of all, in 30 years of watching baseball, this is the first I've ever heard that it is "illegal" to intentionally drop a baseball. In fact, I'm pretty sure this is not an illegal play.  Why would Figgins be allowed to take second base if this were intentional and illegal?

It seems more likely to me that the umpires ruled Ellis actually caught the ball ... however, why then would Figgins not be doubled up?

Again, because I was unable to watch or listen, please enlighten me on this play.  Thanks.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Athletics Nation

You must be a member of Athletics Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Athletics Nation. You should read them.

Join Athletics Nation

You must be a member of Athletics Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Athletics Nation. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker